Capitolism

Independent in All Things, Neutral in Nothing

2010 Book List

with 2 comments

Before we completely leave 2010 behind, I wanted to take a retrospective look at my year in reading. I started tracking the books I read in 2009, after reading Louis L’Amour’s Education of a Wandering Man.

1. Hamlet: The Prince or the Poem? – C.S. Lewis (Gift of Brooken Smith)

More of an essay, but an excellent analysis of Hamlet.

2. Churchill – Paul Johnson

Nice, short biography of one of my heroes.

3. Valley of the Sun – Louis L’Amour

Ever since reading L’Amour’s Education of a Wandering Man, I’ve become a big fan of his Westerns, especially his short stories.

4. The Life of the Mind – James V. Schall, S.J.

5. The Wall Street Journal Complete Small Business Guidebook – Colleen DeBaise (Gift of Katie and Brooken Smith)

6. The American Civil War: A Military History – John Keegan

7. Rules of Civility and Decent Behavior in Company and Conversation – George Washington

8. To Build a Fire – Jack London

One of my favorite short stories.

9. George Washington: The Founding Father – Paul Johnson

Another nice, short bio of another one of my heroes.

10. Personal Memoirs – Ulysses S. Grant

11. As a Man Thinketh – James Allen

12. Hondo – Louis L’Amour

13. World of Keys – Dave Ingram, K4TWJ

I’ve been an Amateur Radio operator since I was 16 and have enjoyed Morse code since then. This is a book showing some rare, odd and beautiful keys. Truly, some of them are works of art. Dave died in late 2009 or early 2010, which was sad. He was always a pleasure to read, and his enthusiasm for Amateur Radio dripped out of every word.

14. The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership – John C. Maxwell (Suggestion of John Dix)

Better than I thought it would be. But, several months later, I struggle to recall one key lesson I learned.

15. A Walk in the Woods – Bill Bryson

Bryson is hilarious.

16. The Art of Thinking – Ernest Dimnet

A suggestion from L’Amour’s list of books.

17. Keys II: The Emporium – Dave Ingram, K4TWJ

18. The Millionaire Mind – Thomas J. Stanley

19. An Iron Will – Orison Swett Marden

20. Low Profile Amateur Radio – Al Brogdon, W1AB

21. Riders of the Purple Sage – Zane Grey

A review on Amazon warned me that the story was interesting, but the dialogue was absolutely horrendous. That review nailed it on the head.

22. The Case for Greatness – Robert Faulkner (Suggestion of Ryan Berg)

23. Your Brain at Work – David Rock (Suggestion of Lynn Ann Casey)

I started it once and didn’t get much from it. I came back mid-year, started all over, and enjoyed it more this time. Good reminder to slow down, think and reconsider possibilities as you go through your day. Also, make sure you check-in with your mental and emotional state throughout the day, and they can have a massive beneficial or harmful effect on your personality and decision-making.

24. Never Eat Alone – Keith Ferrazzi (Gift of Meghan and Vince DaGrava)

25. The Soul of the Firm – C. William Pollard

I worked at SBA with two senior leaders at ServiceMaster, and found the ideas the book and they championed, coincided. Pollard apparently had a terrific temper, though, which stands at odds with some of the ideas espoused in the book.

26. The Grand Canyon of the Colorado – John Muir

27. The Story of My Boyhood and Youth – John Muir

28. Stories of the Sea – Diana Secker Tesdell, editor

I read this in Nassau on my honeymoon. No rhyme or reason, except that I enjoy sea stories when I am by the sea.

29. Joan of Arc – Mary Gordon

I also read this on my honeymoon. Again, no rhyme or reason, I found it on sale before we left for Nassau.

30. The Collected Short Stories of Louis L’Amour: Volume Three – Louis L’Amour

31. Combat Conditioning – Matt Furey

32. Swim With the Sharks Without Being Eaten Alive – Harvey Mackay

I read this in 2009 and 2010. I like the story chapters, focused on one key idea.

33. An Autobiography – Theodore Roosevelt

Really, a tremendous book and I now have much more respect for Roosevelt that I did before. He still used government for purposes, and in situations, I deem unwise. But we may admire men and still find flaws in them and in their decisions.

34. Believe – Dan Zadra, Kobi Yamada, Kristel Wills, Jessica Phoenix (Gift of Janna and Larry Brendtro)

35. Management Cases, Revised Edition – Peter Drucker

36. Manhunt – James L. Swanson

Many friends told me to read this book for years. It really was a page-turner, although I did not come away with any key lessons from it. But, Swanson excelled at telling what happened, a valuable trait in a historian.

37. Influence – Robert Cialdini

38. The Little Guide to Your Well-Read Life – Steve Leveen

39. The Art of Manliness – Brett and Kate McKay

40. Gorgias – Plato

41. The Back of the Napkin – Dan Roam

42. The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid – Bill Bryson

43. SuperPuppy – Peter J. Vollmer (Suggestion of Tom Disantis)

In preparation for the arrival of our lab, Teddy.

44. The Revelation of St. John the Divine

My favorite book of the Bible.

45. Winning – Jack Welch (Gift of Scott Plumridge)

46. A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens

47. Getting to Plan B – John Mullins and Randy Komisar (Suggestion of Zach Clayton)

48. Beyond the Great Snow Mountains – Louis L’Amour

Written by Russell S.

January 2, 2011 at 7:59 pm

Posted in Education

Tagged with , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I enjoy your articles! You know exactly how to set the stage and follow up.

    Jane Raines

    January 21, 2011 at 7:41 pm


Leave a Reply

