Capitolism

Independent in All Things, Neutral in Nothing

Re-assessing Fortune

leave a comment »

Over the years, I have subscribed to a bunch of business magazines and newspapers. Today, I receive the Wall Street Journal, Barron’s, Washington Business Journal, Forbes, the Economist and Fortune. Although I subscribed to Fortune several years ago, I terminated my subscription after a year, as I found the content dull, the writing poor and the selected topics odd.

Thanks to the future Mrs. Capitolism having some airline miles expiring soon, I obtained a new subscription to Fortune. I did not expect much, and did not bother reading the first couple issues I received. But I picked up the latest issue earlier this week and have found it quite good. It has eight or nine articles worth reading, including:

  • Making a good presentation, by Mellody Hobson
  • An analysis of the Birkman Method of assessing personal and team skills, by Jennifer Reingold
  • Business schools teaching entrepreneurship, by David Whitford
  • Growing a small business, by Verne Harnish
  • Fortune‘s list of most admired companies, and an op-ed by Geoff Colvin
  • Military men and women entering the ranks of Corporate America, by Brian O’Keefe
  • General David Petraeus on leadership

Maybe this issue just happens to be a strong one. But at least it made me re-think my views on Fortune magazine.

Leave a Reply

