Capitolism

Independent in All Things, Neutral in Nothing

More Gut-Checking for Would-Be Entrepreneurs

with 2 comments

A couple weeks ago, I noted a useful entrepreneurial gut check by Daniel Isenberg. Now comes a response from Seth Kravitz. He writes about the negatives to starting and running a business, and would-be entrepreneurs should definitely take a look at them. The more experience I have in business, the more I think most people should not start or run a business. In fact, I think few people should start companies and run businesses. Mr. Kravitz’s 20 statements offer some good reasons why – few people could stomach all of the vagaries of running a business.

Written by Russell S.

March 2, 2010 at 12:31 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for mentioning my blog. While I’m glad to see you could relate to a lot of the items on the list, I wouldn’t necessarily agree with saying most people aren’t cut out to run a small business. There are a lot of tough people out there and I think many of them could handle the downsides, it’s more of a question of how much creativity they have and how strong their work ethic is that will be the difference.

    I wrote a follow-up piece to further explain my 20 items here: http://secondcityceo.com/2010/03/01/follow-up-to-my-20-questions-post/

    Seth Kravitz

    March 2, 2010 at 3:59 am

    • Thanks for the comment, Seth. I am not making a moral judgment when I say few people could run a business. People are not worse people for not having those capabilities. Few people can play professional sports, or fly planes, or practice medicine. I simply wanted to point out that running a business takes many diverse skills and a certain attitude. That mix is rare and hence few people have what it takes to run a business. As you note, toughness is one piece, but so are creativity and work ethic. But possessing those skills and aptitudes does not make entrepreneurs or managers a better class of people. Thanks again for your comment, and I hope you will return.

      Capitolism

      March 6, 2010 at 11:17 am


Leave a Reply

